Pleasing Yourself to Please Others

Why do I write?  Almost all writers will say they write because they have to.  But how do I choose which stories to write about?  I found two quotes that answers that for me.

JohnDMacDonald“My purpose is to entertain myself first and other people secondly.”

John D. MacDonald
American novelist known for his thrillers

American Modernist poet known for her irony and wit.

 

 

 

“Any writer overwhelmingly honest about pleasing himself is almost sure to please others.”

Marianne Moore
American Modernist poet known for her irony and wit.

Leave a Reply

